Harvesting olives
4 responses | 0 likes
Started by metmike - June 16, 2019, 2:16 p.m.

These Machines Shake Olives Off Trees And Collect Them In Giant Sheets

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2kLpwsheKJE

Comments
By 7475 - June 16, 2019, 8:31 p.m.
Like Reply

Mike

Interesting

I studied agronomy in the late 60's at Clemson U in S.C.

At that time we were introduced to a peach harvesting prototype being developed by the ag industrial engineering dept.

It was similar in theory to the olive harvester you show here. The peach picker essentially was a split trampolin made of a network of rubber tubes which via being attached and powered by a tractor of sorts would encompass the 

peach tree trunk and shake the tree. Peach would make a gentle bounce or two and safely collect in the center.

Im sure that machine we saw was modified and refined.Never heard how successful the good ole boys were at marketing the thing.

Let me tell you though- you ain't eaten a peach until you try one of those SC freestones during June July August!!

Yessir

John

By carlberky - June 16, 2019, 8:59 p.m.
Like Reply

We don't need no stinkin' humans!

Thanks to Alfonso Bedoya

By silverspiker - June 16, 2019, 11:57 p.m.
Like Reply

thank you folks and JOHN for sharing..... 2004 driving back from Juno Beach , FL back to SE Iowa for my Father's passing (*which was a blessing*).... I drove through Augusta, Georgia in mid- April during the Masters Golf Tournament where the HIGH TEMPS were still in the low 40's ......

...... the magnolias did not come into bloom until early June ..... watched a crop duster spraying the peanuts with fungicide ; which brought back all the fond memories of being a crop-dusters spotter from the age of 8-20..... COOLEST JOB EVER...dude...JUMPING 2 ROWS x 36-INCH ROWS which Equals = ....  72 inch ( 6 foot leaps)  leaps  AND trying to  "NOT" get nailed with the Paraquat, DDT's and ...you name it; that I kind of discoverd may not be good to me .......