New Member Introduction
17 responses | 0 likes
Started by madmechanic - July 18, 2019, 3:53 p.m.

Hello Market Forum!

I registered a little over a week ago after a couple months of lurking.

I am a 30-year old Mechanical Engineer living in California near Sacramento. My daily work commute takes me 30 miles from home to Woodland, CA where they grow a lot of rice. After an incredibly wet spring and thus far fairly mild summer, the rice seems to be growing very well.

So why am I here? I'm here because of MetMike's various threads on climate change. Back in October of 2018 I caught an alarmist headline on MSN news stating 'we have only 12 years left to avoid climate apocalypse." I hate to admit this, but this basically started a mental breakdown of sorts that has left me more-or-less mentally broken, lacking ability to focus and 20 lbs lighter in body weight now than I was in October.

I've spent the last 8-ish months frequenting skeptic websites trying to understand the claims, but my backgrounds is mechanical design and not meteorology or cliamte science. Ask me to design you a gear reduction system or a replica part for an old car, no problem; ask me to understand and explain climate/weather science, not so much.

MetMike's threads have helped quite a bit, but I still have issues and can't sleep well at night. TO be honest I'm not really sure what I'm searching for at this point.

I don't know what I'll be able to add to this forum, I'm not a market trader, I don't even watch the markets (though I probably should). I guess if anyone wants to know how the rice is growing out here in California I can tell you it seems to be growing well and is very green right now.

Anyway, that's all I have for you all for now, just my introduction. Thank you.

Comments
By mcfarm - July 18, 2019, 4:08 p.m.
Like Reply