Fall Foliage map
6 responses | 0 likes
Started by metmike - Oct. 22, 2021, 1:23 p.m.

https://smokymountains.com/fall-foliage-map/

This is how the map looks for October 25th. You can set the week by using the dial at the bottom of the page.

Comments
By 7475 - Oct. 24, 2021, 1:17 p.m.
Like Reply

Hey mm

I was out in the Lancaster PA area yesterday where the map indicates a mix of :

-Near Peak

-Peak

-Past peak

My observation would classify it more like :

-Dull Peak 

-Still a whole lot of green Peak

-Aint gonna happen this year in a spectacular fashion Peak

Maybe MTP can  send us some pics

I hadnt thought of taking pics..

John

By metmike - Oct. 24, 2021, 1:52 p.m.
Like Reply

Thanks very much John.

Very profound point too.

I've found what you said to be the case in MANY years for this and other areas. 

Alot of it depends on the weather.

1. Before the color changing season.

2. Especially during the season in many cases.

I studied it several years ago and will have to dig up some great articles about it but remember that the best colors occur during Falls that maximize tons of sunny, pleasant days and clear cool nights WITHOUT A FROST OR FREEZE!.

An early frost or freeze will immediately kill the leaves and turn them brown before the complete transition that maximizes the color takes place.

An early heavy snow, though rare will also result in the weight of the snow, prematurely taking them down.

Also, a very heavy rain and or an extremely high wind event when the leaves are approaching maximum color, will take out so many leaves that it never reaches that pre event peak potential.

There seemed to be some disagreement on growing season weather. I remember some articles stating that  a drought would cause a really bad show but remember just the opposite. 

Let me look again. There's probably new insight to be had again.

By metmike - Oct. 24, 2021, 2:04 p.m.
Like Reply

Here's your explanation John!