President Biden to Impose a US Version of the Great Chinese Firewall?
8 responses | 0 likes
Started by metmike - March 30, 2023, 9:03 p.m.

https://wattsupwiththat.com/2023/03/30/president-biden-to-impose-a-us-version-of-the-great-chinese-firewall/

Section 3 C of the act appears to give the Attorney General the power to declare receiving news from overseas sources off limits to US Citizens.

The Biden Administration frequently defines climate skepticism as disinformation.

Read more: https://www.whitehouse.gov/ostp/news-updates/2022/02/25/readout-of-white-house-climate-science-roundtable-on-countering-delayism-and-communicating-the-urgency-of-climate-action/

What kinds of penalties are in store for people caught violating the RESTRICT Act?

Read more: https://www.congress.gov/bill/118th-congress/senate-bill/686/text?s=1&r=15

I’m not a lawyer, so maybe I have misinterpreted the act. But falling afoul of this act does not appear to require that a crime be committed, all that the act appears to require is a “transaction”, the transmission of information or use of a communication device which the Biden Administration determines is a threat to national security. And there seems little doubt the Biden Administration considers climate skepticism to be a serious threat to national security, going by communiques from the White House on the subject.

Obviously this bill, if passed, would affect a lot more than climate skepticism. In my opinion it would have a chilling effect on all forms of online free speech.

Comments
By metmike - March 30, 2023, 9:05 p.m.
Like Reply

Greg Price@greg_price11

The bill to ban TikTok is absolutely terrifying. It gives the government the ability to go after anyone they deem as a national security risk at which point they can access everything from their computer to video games to their ring light. This is a Patriot Act for the internet.

By 12345 - March 30, 2023, 11:34 p.m.
Like Reply