Stock trading platform?
12 responses | 0 likes
Started by madmechanic - June 4, 2020, 2:17 p.m.

This could probably go up in the trade related section but it doesn't hurt to put this here.

Now that I'm working from home and have a little more time on my hands, I was thinking about doing a little stock market investing.

My question is this: What company/platform do people here use/recommend for investing in stocks? I'm not looking to do day trading, more of a "lets invest a little money here and there in some companies I like".

I recall doing some research on this last year and three investment firms come to mind (in no particular order):

Fidelity Investments

TD Ameritrade

Robinhood investing (a friend of mine is using this platform and does like it)

But, what do the people here use and like and why? I'm new to this so a user friendly interface would be appreciated maybe with some entry level to intermediate investing tools to help?

Thanks!

MadMechanic

Comments
By metmike - June 4, 2020, 3:58 p.m.
Like Reply

Good to see you and Great question madmechanic!

Wish I could help. I have zero money in stocks, so no personal experience with any entities related to this.

The last stock broker that I had in the 1980's to 1993, emphatically told me to not trade commodities because, in his words "It's worse than horse trading".

But that was in the old days, with high commission rates and the need for a broker to place orders.

wxgrant,

Who do you use and do you have a recommendation?

By madmechanic - June 4, 2020, 4:40 p.m.
Like Reply

Thanks Mike!

Good to have a question to ask around here.   

I am doing a little more reading while I wait for the good folks here to chime in and it looks like TD Ameritrade might be the way to go. Like many brokers now it offers $0 trades but also offers foreign currency exchanges, foreign stock market trades and (supposedly) also offers commodity trades.