confusion about "immigration"
5 responses | 0 likes
Started by GunterK - June 18, 2021, 11:13 p.m.

This post could have been added to more than one thread on this forum. Therefore, I thought it best to make it a stand-alone post.

During discussion about immigration, people often throw all “immigrants” into the same pot… and that’s not right.

The comments below are believed to be correct… if not, please correct me. I am not a professional immigration agent…..

There are 3 ways to ‘immigrate” into the US.

Legal Immigrants.

I am one. I had to go to a US consulate in my home country and apply for a visa… At that time, they were mostly worried about the applicant being a communist sympathizer.So they checked me out really well. After I was vetted, I had to prove that I ether had a “sponsor” in the US who would be financially responsible for me… or I needed proof of a job offer (which I had). Once in, I worked and paid taxes, like any US citizen.

The US has a quota system in place, that allows a certain number of immigrants/year, different for each country. When I came from Europe, there was no problem with the quota system… but I heard that immigrants from the Philippines had wait times of 2 years at that time (because of the large number of applicants)

Refugees… 

Refugees are people who were forced to flee their home country, for various (acceptable) reasons. They also need to apply for refugee status, before they are let in.

Once accepted, they are paid a monthly Social Security check, get free food stamps, free medical, free education, etc, for 7 years. They don’t have to work, but I assume they are expected to find a job as soon as possible.

For example, in Long Beach, CA, is a large community of Cambodian refugees, who escaped the “Killing Fields” of the Khmer Rouge, in 1990s.