Gunter? Hungray
5 responses | 0 likes
Started by cutworm - Aug. 9, 2021, 7:47 a.m.
Comments
By GunterK - Aug. 10, 2021, 11:36 a.m.
Like Reply

Hi cutworm

Disclosure: I grew up in Europe, but I spent most of my life in the USA. I am not an expert in such matters. However, I do try to keep up with happenings in Europe.

First, some background info.

When I grew up in post-WW2 Europe, it was a hotchpotch of nations… each with its own language, each with its own currency, each with its own culture, each with its own national history. They coexisted peacefully.

I remember traveling to Italy, and there were nothing but Italians living there… and when you went to Belgium, there were nothing but Belgians living there.

In 1993, these countries decided to form the European Union. The reason: to make cross-border commerce much easier, and to establish a powerful bloc of nations. And all was well.

However, a few years ago, some of the well-to-do nations decided to welcome refugees from civil-war ravaged countries.They thought it would be a nice humanitarian thing to do, and they hoped that these foreigners would assimilate and bring “diversity” to their countries.

They gave these refugees free housing, free food, free healthcare, free everything.  When the news of this spread around the globe, huge waves of illegal immigrants started coming.

They came from the M.E,and as far as Afghanistan.…They come from the African continent… they cross the Mediterranean in boats and then storm the beaches at night, or even in broad daylight.

And nobody is stopping them.

After a while, it became very clear…. most of them had no intention to assimilate… they brought their way of life with them.

Friends in my small hometown tell me that they now have a large community of Turks.  These immigrants keep separate, in their own community, and they are peaceful.

However, the same cannot be said in many other areas.